Fervo Shares Rise 28% After Binding 396 MW Google Power Agreement
Fervo Energy closed at $19.75 on September 1 after announcing a 15-year, 396 MW geothermal power purchase agreement with Google.
Published 2026-09-02 · Session 2026-09-01 · AI-assisted research and writing
Market move and agreement
Fervo Energy shares closed at $19.75 on September 1, 2026, up $4.37, or 28.41%, from $15.38 after the company announced a binding 396 MW geothermal power purchase agreement with Google. The shares traded between $16.44 and $20.07, and volume reached about 35.1 million shares, roughly 11 times Yahoo Finance’s displayed average volume of about 3.18 million shares. Reuters reported the agreement alongside the initial share-price move.
Cape Generating Station 6 LLC, a wholly owned Fervo subsidiary, signed the agreement with Alphabet subsidiary Google Energy LLC on August 26. Fervo announced the agreement and filed it with the Securities and Exchange Commission on September 1. The filed agreement covers 396 MW from Cape Station in Beaver County, Utah.
The capacity will be delivered in four successive 99 MW tranches, with target commercial-operation dates beginning in the third quarter of 2028. The initial delivery term is 15 years. Fervo guaranteed its subsidiary’s obligations, and Alphabet guaranteed Google’s obligations, providing contractual backing from both parent companies.
From framework to contracted offtake
The agreement converts part of Fervo’s earlier 3 GW Google Geothermal Framework Agreement into binding offtake. Fervo’s June 30 quarterly filing described that framework as non-binding and said Google had no obligation to accept a project or execute a power purchase agreement. The new contract therefore gives Fervo stronger visibility into demand for the covered Cape Station capacity than the prior framework provided.
Fervo reported 658 MW of binding power purchase agreements and approximately $7.2 billion of potential revenue backlog as of June 30. Adding the 396 MW Google agreement to that stated baseline produces 1,054 MW of binding contracted capacity. Fervo did not publish an updated companywide contracted-capacity total in its September 1 filing, and a reported 1,064 MW figure has an unexplained 10 MW difference.
The contract requires Fervo to offer Google an expansion option of approximately 600 MW. Google has no obligation to exercise that option, and any expansion requires a mutually acceptable definitive agreement. The option should not be treated as contracted generation, committed revenue, or part of Fervo’s binding capacity total.
Pricing, escalation terms, expected annual energy volumes, capacity factors, and deemed-delivery provisions were not disclosed. The agreement’s contribution to revenue backlog, margins, and project returns cannot therefore be calculated from the public materials. Fervo described the agreement as the world’s largest enhanced-geothermal PPA, a ranking that remains a company claim because the reviewed sources contain no independent global registry supporting it.
Timing, regulation and execution
The PPA does not directly alter Fervo management’s preliminary 2027 revenue estimate of $60 million to $80 million, because deliveries under the Google agreement are targeted to begin in the third quarter of 2028. On its August 12 earnings call, Chief Financial Officer David Ulrey said possible transmission-line curtailments could affect 2027 revenue and characterized the issue as external to Fervo’s wells, production, and GeoBlock operations. The earnings-call transcript states that management expected the issue to be specific to 2027.
Fervo expected about 100 MW of Cape Station Phase I capacity to operate in early 2027 and 500 MW cumulatively by the end of 2028. It projected approximately $2.2 billion of cumulative Cape Station Phase II capital expenditures through 2028. As of June 30, Fervo remained in the development-to-commercialization stage and had recorded only $174,000 of first-half revenue, according to its quarterly report.
The project may use structures authorized under Utah Senate Bill 132, including a closed private generation system serving data-center load. That path remains subject to regulatory approvals, engineering work, and final data-center plans. The Utah law establishes conditions for private-generation arrangements and utility or transmission-system connections; it does not establish project-specific approval or cost treatment for Cape Station.
Fervo also faces construction, drilling, reservoir-performance, permitting, interconnection, transmission, supply-chain, and cost-overrun risks. Its August 13 filing stated that Cape Station Phase I had obtained 79 of 80 required approvals and Phase II had obtained 82 of 179. Subsequent permit progress was not disclosed with the PPA announcement.
What the share move indicates
The timing and scale of the September 1 move support the inference that investors assigned substantial value to the conversion of a framework-stage opportunity into a signed 15-year agreement with Alphabet-backed obligations. Market data cannot establish that the agreement caused every part of the 28.41% gain, and the dossier contains insufficient evidence that short covering materially drove the session.
The signed offtake may improve the financeability and development credibility of the related Cape Station capacity because credible delivery and offtake arrangements are relevant to project financing. Fervo announced no financing commitment tied to this PPA, so the contract does not establish funding for the project’s remaining development and construction needs.
MacroShed Markets is informational analysis, not investment advice.